Our focus

Chemical biology research at the Leiden Institute of Chemistry is aimed at understanding biological processes at the molecular level to strengthen the knowledge base of human health and disease. The approach to achieve this goal is a fundamental chemical one; with the aid of chemical probes biological systems are interrogated.

Twenty years from now, the world population is estimated to be around 8.3 billion people (now 7.3 billion). In combination with the improvements in living standards and the corresponding growth in consumption, this will result in an enormous increase in the demand for food, consumables, water and energy. Technological and fundamental chemical solutions to meet these demands are needed.


Understanding hydrogen electrocatalysis

Electrocatalysis will play an increasingly important role in future in the transition to more sustainable energy. Thanks to chemist Isis Ledezma Yanez, we now know more about the hydrogen evolution process. PhD defence on the 9th of June.  

Breakthrough by Leiden researchers in Pompe disease

Researchers at Leiden University have made a breakthrough in the study of the hereditary Pompe disease. Together with colleagues in York, they have developed a molecule that binds to the enzyme that is key to the progress of the disease. The findings have been published in ACS Central Science.

Groente, fruit en bloemen langer houdbaar met nieuwe sensor

Als groente en fruit rijp worden, komt het gas etheen vrij. Etheen beïnvloedt ook de snelheid van de rijping. Chemicus Tom van Dijkman onderzocht hoe kleine en goedkope sensoren gemaakt kunnen worden om etheenconcentraties te meten tijdens het transport. Promotie op 12 mei 2016.

Marc Koper awarded the Brian Conway Prize for Physical Electrochemistry

The International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) has awarded Marc Koper with the biennial Brian Conway Prize for Physical Electrochemistry.

ECHO grant awarded

An NWO ECHO grant has been awarded to Marcellus Ubbink to study protein robustness and the roles of conserved amino acid residues in maintaining the structure and function of enzymes involved in antibiotic resistance. 

Bart Limburg winnaar KNCV-Van Arkelprijs 2014-2015

Bart Limburg heeft donderdag 26 mei 2016 de KNCV-Van Arkelprijs 2014-2015 gewonnen. In het Science Centre in Delft ontving de chemicus uit handen van dr.ir. Riet Hilhorst, bestuurslid KNCV, een oorkonde en een prijs ter waarde van EUR 2.500.

Double-stranded water on platinum on the cover of PRL


A paper by Manuel Kolb on water adsorption on stepped platinum surfaces, in collaboration with the group of Dan Killelea at Layola University in Chicago, features on the cover of Physical Review Letters.

Discover the world at Leiden University